The US to Add More Countries to its List of Travel Ban

Donald Trump

Photo by History in HD on Unsplash

According to President Donald Trump, the step is necessary for the sake of national security

Trump Bats for Safety and Security of the US

The US President Donald Trump is determined to carry the seven-country travel ban issue forward. He made his intentions quite clear at a press conference at the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland, recently.

According to him, he was mulling the possibility of adding a couple of countries to the controversial travel ban that prohibits people from these seven countries from traveling or immigrating to the U.S.

In his view, it was the question of national security that necessitated this step. Trump also made it clear that they can’t afford to take chances and must step up to the plate to make people of the US feel safe and secure.

The Scope of Restrictions

It is being widely believed that the new restrictions would likely be in place on Monday, January 27. Even if the scope of restrictions varies from country to country, it will be applicable to seven countries like Nigeria, Sudan, Tanzania, Eritrea, Myanmar, Kyrgyzstan, and Belarus.

Meanwhile, Hogan Gidley, White House spokesperson, while calling the travel ban a success, made it clear that if a country shows the willingness to participate in US immigration programs, they should rightly comply with all security and counterterrorism measures.

The US Criteria for Travel Ban

The US has put in place tough rules for evaluating the security practices of foreign countries. It is keeping a close eye on whether the countries are issuing secure Epassports that carry biometric data on a computer chip and how open they are in sharing necessary information with the US.

Any country failing to fulfill these rules are likely to face travel ban restrictions.

Legal Impediments to the Ban

When Trump signed the original version of the travel ban three years ago, there was widespread confusion and the ban also led to legal challenges in federal courts.

The Supreme Court, however, showing a sense of urgency, promptly upheld the third version of the ban, which bars nearly all immigrants or travelers from five majority-Muslim countries — Iran, Libya, Yemen, Syria, and Somalia — as well as North Korea and Venezuela.

When Trump had the Last Laugh

Even as Trump faced constant opposition for his seven-country ban policy, the Supreme Court in 2018 endorsed Trump’s assertion of presidential power under the Immigration and Nationality Act 1965.

That particular law had originally abolished the U.S. quota system and introduced in its place a new immigration policy with its emphasis on reuniting immigrant families and attracting skilled labor to the United States.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *